Another good book, mmm good

yiddish-for-dogs.jpgDiane and I are studying this very excellent book right now, Yiddish for Dogs.  My favorite word so far is:  NOSH, which means eat, but not gulping down my food all at once like I usually do (because I’m starving to death, no kidding), but snacking during the day.  So I love to NOSH on whatever I find, and on the little snacks Diane gives me when we play those games (the ones where I sit, shake, lie down, heel).  The other day I NOSHED on all the frosting around some Christmas cookies.  Then Diane threw them all away.  Why???? I just don’t understand humans.  They are MISSHUGGEH.

 I am not a Jewish dog, but I do believe in inclusivity and learning to speak others’ languages.  What about you?  That’s why I’m learning a little Yiddish.  I hope you all will learn a little Husky — it’s also a great language with lots of interesting howls, yips and whines.

I heard Diane talking and I think we are also going to learn a little WordPress together.  I’m sure if she will let me, I can help her a LOT.

I’m not just a SHAYNA MAIDEL, you know.

7 Responses to “Another good book, mmm good”

  1. Buddy Says:

    Hey Scout! What a great place you have here. My mom let me stop by but made me leave before I marked my spot. I love to NOSH too- the open dishwasher is one of my favorite places. I can almost climb right in ( at least before the humans see).

  2. 4urpets Says:

    Scout,

    I don’t know anything about yiddish because I am a Chihuahua. My favorite word is fiesta because I get to eat a lot of comeda. Muey bueno! 🙂

  3. DogBlogger Says:

    The Boy and I have been having enforced Noshing sessions lately. We get one bite at a time, tossed into the air by the thumb-havers. I get bites of the canned food from the vet, but The Boy just gets one kibble at a time. He gets plenty more later, of course, when I’m having my special egg-and-rice frittata.

  4. Paul (the Byziwhatsit) Says:

    No, you are much more than a shayna maidel, but you are also a very shayna maidel as well. Woof!

  5. wyrdbyrd Says:

    Wow, good for you Scout—learning a new language. Wow. You and Buddy, who is an Australian Shepherd/Husky mix, would get along very well—he howls and makes all kinds of interesting noises, only I can’t understand him very well, being a human.

    Isabel and Buddy would both like to join in the noshing!

  6. scoutdog Says:

    well as long as isabel and buddy use their own bowl! I have a thing about that, you know.
    Paul, I am blushing under my fur from your great compliment!
    muey bueno! I learned a new word!
    thanks!

  7. Rowan The Dog Says:

    Hey there Scoutala, that’s really good you learning to nosh instead of merely eat. That’s how us mensch dogs do it.
    Love,
    Rowan


Leave a Reply

